Alan Parker - The Sound Of Soul - LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock



Out of stock


SKU:c0016617 ,UPC:




Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


The Sound Of Soul
Alan Parker
12" Vinyl


Be With Records presents a reissue of Alan Parker's The Sound Of Soul, originally issued in 1976. When Parker recorded the killer library soul-funk LP The Voice of Soul (BEWITH 048LP, 2018) with session vocalist Madeline Bell in 1976, some bright spark at Themes decided to also release all of the backing tracks as a separate, and equally innocuously title LP called The Sound of Soul. Thank goodness for bright sparks. Released as a collection of "unobtrusive musical backings in various rhythmic styles", the LP's original description dryly explains "these tracks have been issued without melody and are therefore particularly suitable for use behind commentary." Bell was backed by The Rhythm Section, who were for all intents and purposes the Themes International Music house band. So what here is presented here is an entire album of instrumental work-outs by a band comprised of the formidable talents of Alan Hawkshaw on keyboards, Parker on guitars, Barry Morgan on drums, Les Hurdle on bass guitar, and Frank Ricotti on percussion. Without Bell's vocals these backing tracks are given all the room they need to breathe; each one more than stands up on its own. The Sound Of Soul is a real diggers' delight and, a must-have counterpart to The Voice Of Soul. Be With has worked with the hallowed KPM to re-issue ten of our favorites from across the KPM 1000 Series and the Themes International Music catalogue, currently under KPM stewardship. Whether it's killer soul-funk, sweet jazz-samba, scuzzed-up guitars or accidental Balearic beauty, these records include some of the most innovative work from some of the most talented composers and musicians of the 20th century. These records were never readily available, being originally released as a ready-made, affordable alternative to commissioning music for television and radio. Consequentially the originals have been unobtainable for decades by all but the most dedicated collectors. The audio for all ten re-issues comes from the original analog tapes and has been remastered for vinyl by Be With regular Simon Francis. The same care has been taken with the sleeves, handing the reproduction duties over to Richard Robinson, the current custodian of KPM's brand identity. 180 gram vinyl.
A1–Alan ParkerLove Is All
A2–Alan ParkerMr. Smooth Man
A3–Les HurdleYou've Got What It Takes
A4–Alan ParkerYou're A Winner
A5–Alan ParkerYour Smile
A6–Mike MoranTime Goes By
B1–Alan ParkerMove And Shake Your Body
B2–Mike MoranLove Doctor
B3–Alan ParkerSoul Slap
B4–Alan ParkerCrumpet
B5–Alan ParkerThat's What Friends Are For
B6–Alan ParkerFlying High