Hot Chip - Made in the Dark - LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock
Add to Cart



Out of stock


SKU:k2682 ,UPC:




Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Made in the Dark
Hot Chip
12" Vinyl


Hot Chip formed in 2000, though members Alexis Taylor and Joe Goddard Made in the Dark expands Hot Chip's emotional range as much as their musical range, swinging from the funky, pissed-off "Shake a Fist" to the stream-of-consciousness pop of "One Pure Thought," a witty, wordy gem that comes across like Paul McCartney backed by New Order. Made in the Dark's main weakness might be its ballads, but that may just be in comparison to its many energetic moments, which are so addictive that it feels like a forced come-down whenever the band slows things down. On their own terms, however, "We're Looking for a Lot of Love" is luminously sad, and the title track's heartfelt simplicity and restraint is impressive. And while "Whistle for Will" and "In the Privacy of Our Love" end the album on a strangely sleepy note, their awkwardness might make them a little sweeter precisely because they're not slick. Without these ballads, Made in the Dark would have the ruthless perfection of a greatest-hits collection; as it is, it's just a very, very good album. Hot Chip has honed their skills so much and so quickly that they're almost unrecognizable from the band that made Coming on Strong just three years before. They're still a quirky band, no doubt, but now they're using those quirks to make their most accomplished album to date. previously worked together and had been in the same sixth form at Elliott School in Putney, London. In an interview, Goddard said that early Hot Chip music was written like sixth-form poetry, with acoustic guitars. However, the band completely changed direction because they got "so pissed off with it" and decided to try and make the most inane songs they could.
A1 Out At The Pictures 4:26
A2 Shake A Fist 5:11
A3 Ready For The Floor 3:53
A4 Bendable Poseable 3:47
A5 We're Looking For A Lot Of Love 4:44
A6 Touch Too Much 4:06
B7 Made In The Dark 3:00
B8 One Pure Thought 4:53
B9 Hold On 6:21
B10 Wrestlers 3:45
B11 Don't Dance 4:43
B12 Whistle For Will 2:24
B13 In The Privacy Of Our Love 2:52

Customers Also Viewed