J.Rocc - Cold Heat Funk Mix - 12" Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock
Add to Cart



Out of stock






Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Cold Heat Funk Mix
12" Vinyl


J.Rocc makes it a point to get his hands on any and every slice of essential vinyl that comes out each year, to add to his already ocean-deep crates of funk. With 2004's definitive compilation of Now-Again Records' heavy funk rarities, Cold Heat Vol. 1, J.Rocc had to take it one step further and do a two-part mega-mix.

Following in the lineage of his two now classic 12-inches on Stones Throw, breakbeats abound on J.Rocc's hard-hitting, fast-paced, DJ-oriented mix. All samples and drumbeats derive from songs released on Cold Heat Vol. 1 and Now-Again Records - cutting and pasting the trademark Now-Again brand of heavy heavy raw funk from 1968-1974 into a hip hop format. J.Rocc's mix appeals to lovers of classic funky soul with a taste for neck-snapping drums and dance-floor energy.
1 24-Carat Black* Ghetto: Misfortune's Wealth 3:41
2 Emotions, The Blind Alley 3:04
3 Booker T. & The MGs* Melting Pot 3:50
4 Bar-Kays, The* Humpin' 2:43
5 Dramatics, The Get Up And Get Down 3:10
7 Isaac Hayes Hung Up On My Baby 6:15
8 David Porter I'm Afraid The Masquerade Is Over 4:35
11 Sweet Inspirations, The Why Marry 6:29
12 Rufus Thomas Do The Funky Penguin (Part 1) 3:08
13 Little Milton Packed Up And Took My Mind 3:44
14 William Bell I Forgot To Be My Lover

Customers Also Viewed