Lowfish - Memories Are Uncertain - CD

(No reviews yet) Write a Review


MSRP: $16.19
You save $6.20






Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Memories Are Uncertain


CD is limited to 250 physical copies, hand numbered and packaged in a special metal tin case.

"Memories Are Uncertain Friends" marks the return of Canada's influential Suction Records label, not only one of the first IDM labels in North America, but also one of the first post-techno electronica imprints to bring '80s synthpop sounds to the table.

"Memories..." is 13 tracks of timeless, raw, melodic electronica & experimental IDM by Suction Records co-founder Gregory De Rocher, AKA Lowfish. All tracks were written, produced and recorded live between 1995-1999. These tracks are from a time when the Lowfish sound was still evolving; arising from a distillation of influences including New Wave (OMD, Depeche Mode), early Warp Records (Autechre, Polygon Window), Industrial (Skinny Puppy) and Techno (Plasktikman), mixed with the discovery of electro. The mandate was to make pure, honest instrumental electronic music that would stand the test of time and steer clear of gimmicks and fashion. Working with a stack of analog synthesizers, drum machines, hardware sequencers and early music computers, a set of practices was adopted that continues to this day. Everything was recorded live in one go (no multi-tracking) - the purity and spontaneity of sounds from analog machines was the rule. Patches were never saved nor re-used, arrangements and sequences were deleted when songs were finished, and recording quality was secondary to feel. The results were somewhat low fidelity. This lo-fi-ish sound inspired the name Lowfish, which came into being around 1997. A few notable labels offered to release Lowfish tracks at the time but the delay between finishing the music and it hitting the streets was too long. Thus Suction Records was born in late 1997 to serve as a vehicle for the music of Lowfish, and his partner Solvent.
1 Monster 2:58
2 The Egg 5:45
3 Memory Hole 2:31
4 The Soft Truth 2:42
5 Drum Machine 5 4:41
6 Remnant 5:03
7 UFO 2:14
8 2813 MKII 7:23
9 Drum Machine 6 2:06
10 Clk (dub) 5:23
11 Circus 7:37
12 Orange & Round 1:41
13 Quadra 8:39