Scott Tuma - Not for Nobody - LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock
Add to Cart


MSRP: $21.29
You save $13.30

Out of stock






Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Not for Nobody
Scott Tuma
12" Vinyl


**First ever vinyl pressing of this sumptuous, comforting side from the Americana soul wanderer. Includes free download code redeemable from the label. 600 copies only** Double negatives aside, this album by Boxhead Ensemble and Zelienople associate Scott Tuma is an incredibly beautiful affair, tying together various string-based narratives, often assembled from melodic and uncomplicated acoustic guitar etudes like 'Tiktaalik' and 'Moccasoclea'. These aren't your Takoma-style open-tuned disclosures however, and Tuma is evidently more concerned with song structure than technical excellence. 'Fishen' shows early signs of Tuma looking beyond his principal instrument, bolstering a central guitar line with less easily identifiable instrumentation, resulting in a lovely soundtrack-like piece. Elsewhere, 'Eloper' and 'Cimbal' make drone-scaping sound fun, dispensing with the indigestible harmonies and overtones that come packaged with that sort of thing in favour of evocative, accessible short-form departures from more conventional instrumentals. 'Loversrock1' is about as far away from normality - and Studio One for that matter - as it gets. The song is constituted from formless discord and screeching violin drones, yet somehow comes together in an enticingly beautiful mess. Highly Recommended.

A1 Nobody (River Of Tin) 5:14
A2 Fishen 5:05
A3 Eloper 3:26
A4 Tiktaalik 3:34
A5 Newjoy 3:47
B1 Cimbal 1:51
B2 Jason 2:05
B3 Loversrock 1 w/ Jason Ajemian 1:36
B4 Moccasoclea 2:15
B5 Rakes 6:06
B6 Heeler 2:43
B7 Reprieved 4:20

Customers Also Viewed