Various Artists - Breath Of Danger - LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Add to Cart




SKU:c0019994 ,UPC:




Artist, Album, Batch, Format,


Breath Of Danger
12" Vinyl


Reissue of Breath Of Danger (Themes), originally released in 1974. They say: "A selection of suspense underscores and drama blackcloths which vary in intensity and cover a wide range of suspense and drama situations". Be With Records say: A breaky, funky library great masquerading as a horror score. Oh, and the cover art is amazing. Breath Of Danger was originally released in 1974, and rounded up a killer ensemble cast of library legends including Alan Hawkshaw, Brian Bennett, Alan Parker, David Lindup, Kenny Salmon, Barry Morgan, and Ray Cooper. Lindup's opener "Cold Sweat" sounds like hip-hop-friendly mode Axelrod and, indeed, was brilliantly sampled by Kool Keith for his Dr. Dooom project. Alan Hawkshaw and Brian Bennett's "The Manipulator" sounds like it arrived straight out of the same sessions as their legendary Synthesizer & Percussion LP from the same year. Over on the B-side Alan Parker's "Psychosis" is a moving and beautifully restrained funk-guitar/cello/harp workout. Stunning. Kenny Salmon's "Flying Squad" is a sleazy, flute-enhanced gem and the album closes with "Voodoo", a seventy-second riot of sound and color from the dynamic drumming-percussion duo of Barry Morgan and Ray Cooper. Sonically, there's a widescreen vitality in all these tracks thanks to the driving rhythms, vibrant horn sections and blazing guitar work. It renders Breath Of Danger -- 45 years old -- truly ageless.

The Themes series is known for having particularly striking sleeves, which was unusual for library records at the time, and Breath Of Danger's scraps of comic-book crazy make for one of the most eye-catching. As with all of Be With Records' other Themes reissues, the audio for Breath Of Danger comes from the original analog tapes and has been remastered for vinyl by Simon Francis. Sleeve reproduction duties by Richard Robinson, the current custodian of KPM's brand identity. 180 gram vinyl.
A1–David LindupCold Sweat
A2–David LindupUnease
A3–David LindupAftermath
A4–David LindupIsolation
A5–Brian BennettThe Unknown
A6–Alan Hawkshaw / Brian BennettThe Manipulator
A7–Alan HawkshawSpace Probe
B1–Alan ParkerPsychosis
B2–David LindupAt Risk
B3–David LindupAt Risk (Link)
B4–Alan ParkerManhunt
B5–Kenny SalmonFlying Squad
B6–David LindupDead End
B7–David LindupCollision Course
B8–Barry Morgan / Ray CooperVoodoo