Various Artists - Kankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990 - 3x LP Clear Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock
Add to Cart


MSRP: $127.49
You save $25.50

Out of stock


SKU:c0017429 ,UPC:








LITA preorder-only version on clear vinyl - Light In The Attic’s Japan Archival Series continues with Kankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990, an unprecedented overview of the country’s vital minimal, ambient, avant-garde, and New Age music – what can collectively be described as kankyō ongaku, or environmental music. The collection features internationally acclaimed artists such as Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Joe Hisaishi, as well as other pioneers like Hiroshi Yoshimura, Yoshio Ojima and Satoshi Ashikawa, who deserve a place alongside the indisputable giants of these genres.

In the 1970s, the concepts of Brian Eno’s “ambient” and Erik Satie’s “furniture music” began to take hold in the minds of artists and musicians around Tokyo. Emerging fields like soundscape design and architectural acoustics opened up new ways in which sound and music could be consumed. For artists like Yoshimura, Ojima and Ashikawa, these ideas became the foundation for their musical works, which were heard not only on records and in live performances, but also within public and private spaces where they intermingled with the sounds and environments of everyday life. The bubble economy of 1980s Japan also had a hand in the advancement of kankyō ongaku. In an attempt to cultivate an image of sophisticated lifestyle, corporations with expendable income bankrolled various art and music initiatives, which opened up new and unorthodox ways in which artists could integrate their avant-garde musical forms into everyday life: in-store music for Muji, promo LP for a Sanyo AC unit, a Seiko watch advert, among others that can be heard in this collection.

Kankyō Ongaku is expertly compiled by Spencer Doran (Visible Cloaks) who, with a series of revelatory mixtapes as well as his label Empire of Signs (Music For Nine Postcards), has been instrumental in shepherding interest in this music outside of Japan. Together with Light In The Attic’s celebrated anthologies I Am The Center and The Microcosm, Kankyō Ongaku helps to broaden our understanding of this quietly profound music, regardless of the environment in which it’s heard.
A1–Satoshi AshikawaStill Space
A2–Yoshio OjimaGlass Chattering
A3–Hideki MatsutakeNemureru Yoru (Karaoke Version)
A4–Ayuo TakahashiNagareru
B1–Joe HisaishiIslander
B2–Yoshiaki OchiEar Dreamin'
B3–Masashi Kitamura* + PhonogenixVariation・III
B5–Yoichiro YoshikawaNube
C1–Yoshio SuzukiMeet Me In The Sheep Meadow
C2–Ryuichi SakamotoDolphins
C3–Toshi TsuchitoriIshiura (abridged)
C4–Shiho YabukiTomoshibi (abridged)
C5–Toshifumi HinataChaconne
D1–Yasuaki ShimizuSeiko 3
D2–Inoyama LandApple Star
D3–Hiroshi YoshimuraBlink
D4–Fumio MiyashitaSee The Light (abridged)
E1–Akira ItoPraying For Mother / Earth Part 1
E2–Jun FukamachiBreathing New Life
E3–Takashi ToyodaSnow
E4–Yellow Magic OrchestraLoom
F1–Takashi KobukoA Dream Sails Out To Sea - Scene 3
F2–Masahiro SugayaUmi No Sunatsubu
F3–Haruomi HosonoOriginal BGM