Various Artists - Record Kicks 15th - 2x LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Add to Cart




SKU:c0014879 ,UPC:




Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Record Kicks 15th
Various Artists
12" Vinyl


Side by side with similar outfits like Daptone, Truth And Soul, Freestyle or Timmion, under its motto “The explosive sound from Today’s scene,” Milan-based independent label Record Kicks has been pitching the contemporary funk & soul scene since day one. With over 200 releases under the belt, RK has released bands from all over the globe and earned the support of VIP fans such as Kenny Dope, Jamie Cullum, Craig Charles and not least Jay-Z, thanks to which the label has recently received a Grammy nomination for HOV’s use of Hannah Williams’ “Late Nights And Heartbreak” as backdrop for his album 4:44. The new installment Record Kicks 15th celebrates 15 years in the business with a collection full of exclusive new tracks and the very best of its roster.

The album kicks off with RK’s latest and youngest signing: from Chicago, heavily inspired by The Impressions and Leroy Hutson, we are proud to present you The Devonns, with their super soulful debut single “Come Back”, an appetizer of their debut full length expected to land on RK next autumn. Another new signing to the label is Men Of North Country’s (Acid Jazz Records) side project The Faithful Brothers, here with their new single “One More Time”. Other exclusive tracks of the comp are “This Strange Effect”, a coverup of The Hooverphonic’s single from 1998 brought to you by Dutch northern soul disciples The Tibbs, “Love You Back” from Detroit deep funk outfit Third Coast Kings, “The Sort” by the Buenos Aires mod reggae kings The Crabs Corporation, “Top Dog” by British funk combo The Hook & Slingers and straight from Down Under “You Don’t Know Me” by the always great Dojo Cuts.

Along with these new exclusive cuts, dig on some label’s news singles and heavyweight classics such as DJ Shadow’s “This Time” taken from Baby Charles debut LP, “Don’t Throw Your Love In The Garbage Can” by James Brown’s original funk diva Martha High feat Japanese funk ambassadors Osaka Monaurail, “Psycheground” the brand new afrofunk single by Calibro 35 and then Portuguese TNT Dynamite Marta Ren & The Groovelvets, Toronto soul queen Tanika Charles, UK funk ambassadors The New Mastersounds, The Diplomats of Solid Sound and the already mentioned “Late Nights & Heartbreak” by Hannah Williams & The Affirmations.
1. The Devonns - Come Back 03:45
2. The Tibbs - This Strange Effect 02:46
3. Marta Ren & The Groovelvets - I’m Not Your Regular Woman 02:39
4. Third Coast Kings - Love You Back 03:45
5. Baby Charles - This Time 02:55
6. Calibro 35 - Psycheground 03:05
7. Martha High - Don’t Throw Your Love In The Garbage Can 03:29
8. Tanika Charles - Money 02:52
9. The New Mastersounds - Idle Time (Lack Of Afro Rmx) 05:10
10. Diplomats Of Solid Sound feat. The Diplomettes - Hurt Me So 03:36
11. The Crabs Corporation - The Sort 03:56
12. Dojo Cuts feat. Roxie Ray - You Don’t Know Me 04:07
13. The Hook & Slingers - Top Dog 03:08
14. The Faithful Brothers - One More Time 04:07
15. Hannah Williams & The Affirmations - Late Nights & Heartbreak 04:14

Customers Also Viewed