Various Artists - Studio One Women - 2x LP Vinyl

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Out of stock



Out of stock


SKU:c0002388 ,UPC:




Batch, Album, Artist, Format,


Studio One Women
Various Artists
12" Vinyl


Ska, rocksteady, funky reggae, roots, dub mixes, disco mixes, they're all here from the queens of the Jamaican music scene - Studio One Women features a wide mix of classics and obscurities from the finest female voices in reggae. Until now most of these tracks have only ever been available as extremely hard to find Jamaican 7 inch and 12 inch singles and even if you were lucky enough to find them they'd cost you a small fortune.

Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley (here with her first group The Soulettes) are two of Jamaica's most famous female singers hugely popular today. Both these artists became internationally famous as The I - Threes (along with Judy Mowatt), Bob Marley's backing singers alongside The Wailers. Also featured are Hortense Ellis, sister of Alton who cut many smash hits on the island, and Jennifer Lara, a lady who had a long career with Studio One, singing on countless sides.

Studio One is the greatest label in the history of reggae and is the foundation of all reggae music. It's where virtually every world renowned Jamaican superstar started out, Bob Marley and The Wailers included. Under the guidance of the legendary Clement "Coxsone" Dodd the musicians at Studio One recorded hundreds of instrumental rhythms which still provide the backbone for many of the records made in Jamaica today

A1 - Claudette McLean Give Love Another Try
A2 - Jennifer Lara My Man
A3 - Soulettes, The Deh Pon Dem
A4 - Della Humphrey Dream Land
A5 - Jennifer Lara Consider Me
B1 - Denise Darlington War No Right
B2 - Hortense Ellis I'm Just A Girl
B3 - Angela Prince No Bother With No Fuss
C1 - Jerry Jones There's A Chance For Me
C2 - Soulettes, The King Street
C3 - Jennifer Lara Tell Me Where
C4 - Tonettes, The* I'll Give It To You
D1 - Marcia Griffiths Tell Me Now
D2 - Jay Tees Come To Me
D3 - Angela Prince You A Fool Boy
D4 - Jennifer Lara I Am In Love